Whenever a person suffers a personal injury, chances are the injury or injuries are severe enough to warrant a lawsuit. It may be necessary to sue the damaging party to collect satisfactory damages. Often, insurance companies will try to persuade the injured party from going to court, and will offer a settlement. However, that is usually not to the advantage of the injured party. There is a Personal Injury Attorney in Marin County CA who advises clients on how to handle matters in their own personal injury cases. These are some things to know about personal injury in California.
The first thing to be aware of is the amount of time to file the personal injury case in California. That time limit is two years. If the injured party fails to file a claim in a civil court in California within that period, his or her case will probably not be heard. There will be no opportunity to be awarded any damages. In addition, if the claim is against a city, county or state government agency, the time to file is only six months. There are strict guidelines that must be adhered to in those cases.
Another thing to consider is the “shared fault” rule that California employs. This means that if the injured party is found to be any percentage at fault for the accident, that is the amount that will be reduced from any damages to be received. For example, if the damages are $50,000, but the injured party was found to be 30 percent at fault, $15,000 would be reduced from the damages he or she will receive.
The Law Offices of James D. Rush have been helping clients with legal solutions in the Northern California area for many years. They offer clients the benefit of their practices in personal injury cases, automobile accident cases and employee wage claims. In addition, they offer legal services for bankruptcy, whistle-blower issues, landlord representation, probate and estate law, and business litigation. If you need to consult with a Personal Injury Attorney in Marin County CA, they are available. You can visit their website at .